Over the course of my career, I have received multiple awards and prizes for my scholarly research, my teaching, my investigative and gonzo reporting, and my fiction-writing. In 2016, the public benefit of my research into misogyny online was recognised when I was named the Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year. This followed my receipt, in 2014, of a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA) from the Australian Research Council (ARC) to fund a three-year research project into gendered cyberhate. Most recently, in 2017, I received the Dean’s Award for Achievements by an Early Career Researcher awarded by my Faculty at UNSW, Sydney.

for scholarly work and teaching

2019   Finalist in inaugural UNSW Emerging Thought Leader Prize.

2018   Shortlisted for Best Monograph by an Early Career Researcher, Dean’s Research Awards, UNSW, Sydney, Arts and Social Sciences.


2018   Arc Post Graduate Supervisors Award, UNSW Sydney.


2017  AUD$1500. Dean’s Award for Achievements by an Early Career Researcher, UNSW Arts and Social Sciences, 15 April.

2016 AUD$3000. Anne Dunn Scholar Award (for excellence in communication and journalism research for the public benefit).

2015  AUD$372,095. Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA). Title: “Cyberhate: the new digital divide?”,

Australian Research Council. Project ID: DE150100670.

2014 AUD$2776. Internal research grant, UNSW.

2013 AUD$3576. Internal research grant, UNSW.

2012  AUD$4069. Internal research grant, UNSW.

2009  AUD$2000. Internal grant to attend ANZCA Post-Graduate Mentoring Workshop (QUT), UNSW.

2009  AUD$66,000. Australian Postgraduate Award, University of New South Wales. 

2005  AUD$5000Academic Merit Scholarship, University of Sydney (until 2006).

for fiction & journalism

2003 People with Disabilities (WA) Inc Media Awards (acknowledged for a “thought provoking and challenging article” on physical intimacy and the disabled).

2001 Women’s Electoral Lobby Edna Ryan Humour Award (awarded for “using wit to promote women’s interests”).

1998 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Asia and the South Pacific for Best First Novel (awarded for Deadset).

1998 Named as one of Australia’s Best Young Writers at the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

1997 AUD$15,000  Australia Council literary grant.


1997 Henry Lawson Award for Journalism.

1997 Two inclusions in the 1997 Carlton and United book of Best Australian Sports Writing and Photography.

1997 Named as one of Australia’s Best Young Writers at the Sydney Writers Festival.

1992 Cadet of the Year, APN editorial competition.

1990  Sir Harry Budd Memorial Award for NSW Country Journalism.

1989 PF Adams’ Memorial Cadet Award, Prodi Awards.